50 Year Celebration (CD)

50 Year Celebration (CD)

Alter Preis CHF 25.50 |Sie sparen 70 %

CHF 6.84*
CHF 7.60 *



Contemporary gospel's preeminent group the Mighty Clouds of Joy carried the torch for the traditional quartet vocal style throughout an era dominated by solo acts and choirs; pioneering a distinctively funky sound which over time gained grudging acceptance even among purists they pushed spiritual music in new and unexpected directions even scoring a major disco hit. The Mighty Clouds of Joy were formed in Los Angeles during the mid-'50s by schoolmates Joe Ligon and Johnny Martin; while still in their teens the original group -- which also included brothers Ermant and Elmo Franklin Leon Polk and Richard Wallace -- made their recorded debut in 1960 with "Steal Away to Jesus cut for the Peacock label. Their debut LP Family Circle arrived a year later. In the years that followed, the Mighty Clouds earned a reputation among gospel's greatest showmen; one of the first groups to incorporate choreographed moves into their act, their nimble footwork and bright, color-coordinated outfits earned them the sobriquet The Temptations of Gospel." More importantly they were the first group to add bass drums and keyboards to the standard quartet accompaniment of solo guitar resulting in a sound which horrified traditionalists but appealed to younger listeners -- so much so in fact that the Mighty Clouds became the first gospel act ever to appear on television's Soul Train where they performed their disco smash "Mighty High." Their crossover success continued with opening slots for pop stars including Marvin Gaye the Rolling Stones and Paul Simon whom the group backed during a month-long stint at Madison Square Garden. While lineup changes plagued the Mighty Clouds throughout their career they remain active to this day; in addition to co-founders Ligon and Wallace their latter-day incarnation also included Michael McCowin Mike Cook Wilbert Williams Johnny Valentine and Ron Staples.

Track Listing:
01. Jesus Kind of Man
02. We Will Overcome
03. Walk Around Heaven All Day
04. If Jesus Can't Fix It [Live]
05. Mighty High [Live]
06. Order My Steps [Live]
07. I Made a Step [Live]
08. Something To Thank God For
09. Jesus Will Turn It Around
10. Swing Low Sweet Chariot
11. I've Been In the Storm Too Long
12. I Know I've Been Changed [Live]
13. He's My Roof Top
14. I Don't Feel Noways Tired
15. A Change is Gonna Come
  • Artikel-Nr. 80201390
  • |
  • ISBN/EAN: 5099930614826
  • |
  • Erschienen/Erfasst: 30-03-2011
  • |
  • Auflage: 1.
  • |
  • Sprache: Englisch
  • |
  • Einband: CD
  • |
  • Label: Capitol Christian Distribution
  • |
  • Versandgewicht: 88 g
  • |
  • Abmessung: 125 x 142 x 10 mm


Auch diese Kategorien durchsuchen: Gospel, Southern Gospel Musik
Wir nutzen Cookies, um Ihre Online-Erfahrung zu verbessern. Indem Sie unseren Shop nutzen, akzeptieren Sie unsere Cookies.